Poets logo

The Train

All aboard!!!

By J. S. WadePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11

Gray walls, light beams cut through shadows, as masses push for the train.

Internal eyes dampen contact as if no one exists. Pungent odors of old and new pierce my nostrils in warning. Fantasies of new air my simple desire.

A screech, brakes expel, the silver cylinder, slows, and black canvas’s of glass pass by until one rose frame stops before me, unique. I’m frozen and careless, my breath escapes in awe, and surrenders to the collective atmosphere.

Her Raven hair, full, with bronze eyes scans neutral across the platform, lock on mine, and wax bright. She smiles, angelic, and all grays dissipate. I smile, yet fearful, vulnerable, as radiance of gold fills my inner core.

“All aboard” heralds around me as her hand touches the glass, reaching out, and lands on my heart that feels stopped.

A spark, a thought, a dream, spikes though my mind. It’s her.

I Run!

Abandon all.

It’s her.

“All aboard!”

I do.

love poems
11

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    It's not the same at all, but your setting here made me think of the end of Tolstoy's "Anna Karenina". Cool effect!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautiful love story in the form of a poem!

  • What a beautiful poem filled with romance, sentiment, and intrigue. Well done as always.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Wonderful flash fiction ❤️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Re-read. Hearted Previously. Terrific poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.