Poets logo

The trail’s end

Blaze and glory

By Anna TorresPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The trail’s end
Photo by bhuvanesh gupta on Unsplash

My maniac hooked on adrenaline and vice. We ventured to the top of the world and found out we loved it there. We don’t need a throne or a kingdom to rule. An endless highway that carried us to perdition but we didn’t care.

There’s the finish line with no shame to thrill. Revenge gone haywire sabotages our freedom. A love ballad full of bloodshed and hellfire. Come high water, this media flood will never be enough.

My devoted master warrior in crime. We will circumnavigate the globe until we win. My beloved, my partner in this misery. Our lives are intertwined but time is wearing thin.

The chase keeps us alive and willling. A pursuit the righteous will continue to hunt. We barbarians live our lives on the run. The clock is ticking and soon our time will be done.

It’s a slippery slope we are escaping from. A tragedy of malice and cunning. Whevere it leads, we follow the trail. I don’t know how but we keep on winning.

Life has made us both bitter and frail. The future is set and there is no point of return. I put on my war mask and a brave face. We go down in flames as we await our turn.

We don’t last as long as I wanted. The path we took was a perilous one. The end approaches like a new dawn. We can’t undo all the damage we’ve done.

Our past haunts us as we flee. They couldn’t separate us even if they tried. The future is ours and I’m ready for it. Inevitable death meets our ultimate demise.

With a violent heart, I’ll meet you on the other side.

celebritiessurreal poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.