Poets logo

The Town of Safiya

(with respects to Qays ibn al-Mulawwah)

By Matt PointonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Image from https://worldstories.org.uk/reader/the-story-of-layla-and-majnun/english/389#

I walk along this lonesome road

Moor stretched out on either side

I walk forwards for hours but never move

My soul remains anchored to yours

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

Endless streets of terraced stone

I pass by house upon house

Do you dwell within this one or that?

Alas, I will never get to know

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

This masjid here with an open door

Is this the place where you pray every day

Oh, cruel wooden screen that separates

Even if you’re in the room, I’ll never know

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

Is that the madrassah where you teach?

Where your angelic voice soars in surah

Crying to God in pain, hope and love

All in a language that I cannot comprehend

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

That light in yonder window shines

Does it illuminate the face I long to see?

Does it reflect in your eyes of sparkling emerald?

Mine are but pools of despair

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

Ahead three women swathed in black

Is one of them this Majnun’s Layla?

I long to run, to see, to check

But a madman is not welcome here

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

I sit alone in the restaurant you like

But not a morsel passes my lips

Instead, I stare out at the street

Crying for my heart to be nourished instead

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

The days are dreary-drizzly

Grey permeates every glance and thought

Are you melancholy too, my Safiya?

Whilst above us both the June sun blazes

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

The nights are long and empty now

Oh, prisoner of this too-cruel world

My heart you have bound in chains of iron

At least we may share in suffering as one

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

Rain-drenched streets I tread and weep

A hopeless quest that has no end

Until, like Majnun, I can rest

My head pillowed by your grave

---

I pass by this town of Safiya

And I kiss this wall and that wall

It’s not Love of the town that has enraptured my heart

But of the One who dwells within this town

---

26-27/05/2022, Smallthorne, UK

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Matt Pointon

Forty-something traveller, trade unionist, former teacher and creative writer. Most of what I pen is either fiction or travelogues. My favourite themes are brief encounters with strangers and understanding the Divine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.