Poets logo

The Times I've Left

by Pedro el Poeta

By Pedro el PoetaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The Times I’ve Left

The first time that I left her

it was not by choice.

I had to leave.

There was a war. I had no voice.

The first time that I left her

I just bit my tongue.

I did not know what I was doing.

I was very young.

The first time that I left her

I was scared.

I was a boy.

I was naïve.

I didn’t care.

The first time that I left her

wasn’t fair.

The second time I left her

it was understood.

We knew it wasn’t permanent,

though it was good.

The second time I left her

I prepared her first.

We were both in different places.

We were blessed and cursed.

The second time I left her

I think made it worse.

It filled me with a yearning;

with a sort of thirst.

The second time I left her

really hurt.

The last time that I left her

I was forced again.

Didn’t want to leave, believe me,

fate forced my hand.

The last time that I left her

the depression hit.

I would cry about it

and still wouldn’t mention it.

The last time that I left her

dug a hole in me.

It’s like this wicked curse

has all of this control on me.

But the last time that I left,

I left her soul in me.

All the times I’ve left her,

I left wanting more.

And every time I’ve returned

to an open door.

I’ll never really leave her,

she’s inside of me.

The more I know her,

the more she instills pride in me.

The journey has been bittersweet.

The journey made me Me.

Without my Nicaragua,

I don’t know who I’d be.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Pedro el Poeta

Pedro el Poeta is an award-winning Hip-Hop/Spoken Word/Freestyle artist, an activist, a proud father of two, a teacher, and an Eckerd College graduate with a B.A. in Creative Writing.

For more, please visit: pedrothepoet.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.