Poets logo

The Time Has Come

A Variation on a High School Poem

By Lillianna NightveilPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
17
The Time Has Come
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

You sit in front of an ancient house, thinking deeply.

Taking in your surroundings, you notice a small gate at the end of a walkway, just beneath your feet.

Behind you, the house creaks and groans as it settles on its foundation.

Just beyond the gate, a pair of figures approach.

They stop, you blink, and they are beside you, not a sound was made.

“Who-- How--?” you stammer, trying to formulate a cohesive question.

“Do not be alarmed,” they speak in unison. “We are not here to harm but help you.”

“How can you help me?” you ask, skeptical. “I’ve been everywhere, yet there’s nowhere I belong.”

“Not all doors are meant to be opened by one person,” they respond.

You look at them with confusion in your eyes.

“We can set you back on the path, you just need a bit of guidance.”

They motion toward the door of the house. You turn to look, but nothing has changed. Again, you look to them with disbelief.

"I guess I'm meant to remain in there?" you ask, disdain coloring your voice.

The pair shake their heads. "You will find where you belong on the other side of that door, but it is not here."

Now we're speaking riddles, you think, incredulously. You stand up and face the door . "Very well, I trust you know everything. I'll do as you say."

With a snap of their fingers, you open the door, and disappear.

performance poetrysurreal poetry
17

About the Creator

Lillianna Nightveil

I am a parent to four children; a perfectionist who finds it very difficult to finish any project without many revisions.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Katie 5 months ago

    I’ve my own door to walk through. Nice words thanks.

  • Amazing Top Story 🎉✨😉Congratulations🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    very often, I wish I could but then I remember, there is way too much for me on this side of the door. You opened my eyes. thank you.

  • IBRAHIM SHOKUNLE8 months ago

    https://awards.vocal.media/nomination?grsf=ibrahim-0lf4p1

  • Thank you all for the comments. I enjoyed reading your thoughts.

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    This was great. Very captivating!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Eldritch and great! Wonderfully written! Congrats on tops!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Ohhh this was eerie! Congrats on top story! 🤗

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Spooky. Like a snippet of a dream. I liked it.

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    This is a great story poem that has many lessons to learn from. One must seek their own answers.

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Wow! Excellent story, Lillianna. Really enjoyed this. Hope we get to learn where they went through those doors :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.