Poets logo

The things I never thought I'd do

A poem about love at first sight

By JPWrites.2Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The things I never thought I'd do
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

As a girl I dreamed of being Cinderella and finding true love

As a girl I dreamed of love like it was the only way of existing

As a girl I dreamed of fairytales and poofy dresses

As a teen I faced more realism

As a teen I learned that life is not made up of fairytales

As a teen I learned that love didn’t come easy to Cinderella

As a teen I learned love was work

As a young woman I questioned if love would ever find me

As a young woman I wondered if I would ever find it

Let alone at first sight

By nineteen I had almost given up on the hopes of my eight year old self

By nineteen I began questioning if something was wrong with me

By nineteen I wondered if love even existed anymore

By nineteen everything changed

That’s when it happened

I looked into the eyes of a man my age and suddenly I did the things I never thought I’d do

I loosely conversed with a man whose eyes drew me in

I grew instantly infatuated with a caramel eyed man as though the eight year old me was right all along

As a young girl I dreamed of being Cinderella and finding true love

As a nineteen year old millennial I stared down the barrel of that very gun

As a now woman I saw beyond caramel eyes and dreamed of more

In one moment I went from hopelessly wondering to hopelessly in love

I suppose it’s true after all, writers really are die hard hopeless romantics

Years have passed since that moment

I now do all the things I never thought I’d do

I fold a mans laundry too

I crave the sweet bliss of laying my head on his chest

I know just how he likes his food

I listen to songs we made memories to so I can relive them

I massage his back and rub his feet

I’m a nurse, a cook and a partner in crime

I crave his presence

I dream of marrying him

The young girl I was all those years ago dreamed of being Cinderella

The young girl I was imagined true loves kiss and poofy dresses

The teen I became never thought I’d find it

She never thought I’d cook for a man

Never imagined I’d grow to love the things another does

The teen I became never imagined wanting to give someone the world while also wanting to live in it with them

The teen I grew into never imagined I would brush my teeth next to a man while he uses the toilet

Nineteen year old me never saw it coming

I never thought I would look so deeply into the soul of anyone

I never anticipated gazing into caramel eyes and never looking back

I, now in my twenties, never thought I would be sitting here writing about love at first sight…

Crazy isn’t it?

I never thought beyond my wildest dreams that I would be in my own fairytale

Crazy how the things I never thought I’d do became all the things I do

And hope to do for the rest of my life

love poems
1

About the Creator

JPWrites.2

Hey everyone! just a small town author here writing a bit of everything.

Feel free to email me ideas or just check out my socials!

[email protected]

Insta @Jpwrites.2

Share, follow, enjoy! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.