Poets logo

The Thespian

Playing a Role

By Dan R FowlerPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
Like

The Thespian

Some have lectured me, some have taught,

Some have whispered, the knowledge I’ve sought.

But few have touched me down to my soul,

With words like magic that I keep now that I’m old.

We’ve all read a sonnet, a poem, a story,

One that touches us, holds us in its glory.

But few have lifted me from despair that I’ve known,

As I’ve fought to be a part of life even now that I’m grown.

Clowns and parades, movie studios and reels,

All seem as a backdrop, ones that keep me thrilled.

It’s all an act, this life that we all proclaim,

Even though through the sunshine and rain, I still remain.

The crowds all shout, “Give us more, encore, encore!”

As I struggle with the costumes even those I adore.

But the show must go on through the wind and the rain,

From early morning till late evening that’s why they came.

An actor, a pretender, a thespian fully clad,

My younger version was spontaneous, an excited lad.

So turn down the lights, silence the crowd,

For the curtains are opening and I’ve donned my shroud.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.