Poets logo

Time's Amulate

Oh, to begin again

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2

Time’s Amulet

There was a time I remember all too well,

When words meant something and honesty prevailed.

When a simple smile spoke volumes in silence,

Carrying the weight of an orator’s license.

I remember unexpected epilogues of attempted quests.

Those that held ethereal moments that made me hold my breath.

It was a time now far spent, an unattainable prize,

Yet I seek it with all that I am if I could only be so wise.

I’ve searched innumerable places for this amulet to find,

The enchantment if only spoken returns me to that time.

But, alas, I sit upon my life’s bench and ponder,

If returned to that epoch, would I remain somber?

It’s the not knowing that imprisons me I must admit,

But my mind bids me come offering imagines an eclipse.

Leaving me to wonder, to guess, to frolic impishly,

Within my soul, upon sparse images foolishly.

I’ve been told that I’ll eventually stop wondering,

And time in its own way will stop this endless wandering.

But until that time when I must let all things go,

I’ll hold tight to the possibilities, and memories of long ago.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    That's very informative and interesting I really like your work

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    A brilliant work about time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.