Poets logo

The Subway

Missed Opportunities

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read

The Subway

I saw someone just the other day,

While walking down to the subway.

They weren’t aware that I was there,

Or that I recognized them by their stare.

Emotions from a time holding scars,

Instead of holding for us many stars.

They didn’t turn to look at me,

Even though I craned to see.

It had been a fanciful time for sure,

When love grew without a cure.

Tinkering with my heart and theirs as well,

Time of limited words making hearts well.

I knew them only for a short time,

A moment for them, for me a lifetime.

At the diner, we sat with coffee in hand,

Each wondered what would be the plan.

Yet, the moment we shared at the table,

Was a snapshot in a world unstable.

Our dreams over coffee never came true,

The years passed unfulfilled, but what could I do.

I saw someone just the other day,

They greeted others in a friendly way.

But for me, there wouldn’t be a reply,

Lowering my head, I remembered our goodbyes.

I still walked to the subway seeking passage,

And I look for them in the colorful masses.

But alas, their face I can no longer find,

One that was warming and for me very kind.

Now years later, I think of the missed opportunity,

When love could be seen in all of its simplicity.

Had there been more time to consider decisions,

Perhaps each of us may have experienced different visions.

vintagesad poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.