Poets logo

The Struggle Within

Standing at the crossroads of life

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
7
The Struggle Within
Photo by Gabriele Tirelli on Unsplash

My heart is torn between two worlds

As I navigate the ups and downs, the twists and twirls

Of love and duty, of family and spouse

I feel like I’m walking on eggshells, in this huge house

I love my parents, they’ve been my rock

Through thick and thin, they’ve never stopped

Supporting me, encouraging me, in all that I do

But now, with love in my heart, I have to start anew

The man I love, he’s my everything

My partner, my soulmate, my reason for being

He’s my present and my future, my home

And with him by my side, I know I’ll never be alone

But how do I balance it all, this life I lead?

The duties of a daughter, a wife, a life in full speed

I want to serve them all, with love and care

But I’m afraid of getting lost in it all, and losing my own share

The fear grips me, as I ponder on

Can I juggle it all, without feeling withdrawn?

Can I be a daughter, a wife, and still be me?

Or will I get lost in the shuffle, and no longer be free?

But then I take a breath, and find my center

And I know deep down, that I can enter

Into this new world, with love and grace

And carve out a life that’s uniquely my own space

I’ll serve my parents, with all my heart

And with my husband, I’ll create a brand new start

I’ll find my balance, my place in this puzzle

And I’ll be true to myself, my identity a memory muscle

For at the end of the day, it’s my life to live

And I’ll give it my all, with all that I can give

I’ll embrace the struggle, the ups and the downs

And with love in my heart, I’ll wear my crown.

sad poetrylove poemsinspirational
7

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Beautiful! Balancing our roles is very challenging and you just helped everyone by acknowledging that and embracing it. Love the crown!!

  • You're so amazing! I can never be like that. I can hardly even be a good daughter, lol. And I don't plan to become anyone's wife or mother. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.