Poets logo

The Song of Lies

A Recollection of My Childhood

By Jackie KappPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Pretty lies is what the devil used to feed me. Morning, noon, and night.

Sweet, sweet promises that were never kept.

Dreams that were created through false ideologies that she could change, that she could recognize the damage she caused.

Having the simple idea of the unconditional love from a mother,

Only to be later shown that love has condition, when love is based on lies.

But unknowingly I danced with the devil, the waltz, the cha cha, the tango.

I bent over backwards to show the love I had was pure. Though she had other plans.

I was to be a pawn, playing into the games she made.The very games that tore our lovely family apart.

Telling me that she had more important things to do.

Leaving it to me to learn the ropes of life, the very ones I'd soon get tangled in.

Telling me that everything was for the best. That life has its challenges and will work out.

Though she was the challenge, only to be de-masked later on.

Making everyone else out to be the bad guy.

Daddy was a demon, who caused terrible problems, we were told.

But if that were fact, he was a demon who only search for love and peace.

“I want to call Daddy” I’d say, later she say.

Though later never came, it was one of the games she played, and she played it very well.

But am I angry with her for the pain she caused? I’d have to say no.

For she is a sad person, one who’s loneliness is amplified by all the unanswered letters she sends.

One who will forever live with the pain she brought upon herself.

Her teeth have long disappeared, for the rotting caused by the lies she spit out took their toll.

Her kingdom built on mistrust and betrayal, lies empty, for we are not there to fill it anymore.

I don’t blame her for playing her music loud so that the siren might call me over to dance,

But what the devil doesn’t understand, Is that her actions, her choices

Created the wedge between us.

So now I leave the devil to dance alone in her sadness. For she must answer to the evil she emanated.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jackie Kapp

17 🌸 Dawson College||Broken and getting better with everyday 🌸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.