Poets logo

The Soil Bleeds Red

Waking up to the work we, as a collective, are being called to do.

By Vanessa ButeraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Black Lives Matter March at Celebration Square on June 7th, 2020

The soil bleeds red

As they are pulling bright poppies

Out of the ground

You are falling

To the last 'Hallelujah'

Hoping a choir of angels

Will catch you when you land

Our hearts bleed red

We used to dance

To our self proclaimed drum beat

Now we run

The flicker in our hearts

Turned to fire in our eyes

As we watch a bright hope

Go down in flames

The soil bleeds red

So you set fire to the pavement

To destroy the darkness

Of an unknown future

When empathy goes deaf

You scream in the blistering silence

Hoping your voice will jolt

Those in blissful slumber

The soil bleeds red

But I won't clench my fist

I will extend a strong hand

To you

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Vanessa Butera

My name is Vanessa Butera. I am a 25-year-old poet/songwriter from Toronto, ON. I graduated from York University with a degree in English. Please join me on this journey as I write about music, literature, arts, and current events.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.