Poets logo

The Slinker

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
13
The Slinker
Photo by Hayley Murray on Unsplash

It crawls under your bed at night, it claws away to give you a fright. It’s eldritch and terrifying and causes all kinds of blight.

He slinks into your bed, you can see him move and squirm under your sheet. They call him The Slinker, and you scream as he eats your feet.

You pass out from the pain and wake up a short while later. The Slinker had turned into a man, he says came from a meteor crater.

He says he’s not from this world, he’s from a far away place. The only way to earn your feet back is to worship his face.

You crawl out of bed and fall to the ground. Unable to walk, your body slams the floor with a pound.

You beg and you plead, you pray and you bow. He’s says, ‘let me show you how.’

He lights candles abound, which completly surround you. He then tells you to chant an incantation which completely astounds you.

You begin to repeat the words and candles flicker. Your body wanes, just like the surrounding wicker.

You chant “In the cold of night, by candlelight, I call upon evil spirits burning bright.

With reverence and my loudest plea, I summon all demons, monsters and eldritch things nearest to thee, to come wander over to me.

From other worlds and realms currently unknown, from places where dark shadows lurk and roam, I ask you now, to come to us and give us pride, and to journey with us by our side.

So come to me, oh eldritch monsters dear, and let us know that you are near and ready to cause humanity extreme fear.

With an open heart and an open mind, I welcome all demon and monster kind, fear, horror and loathing they will find.

We’ll rule the world and humans will rue the day they decided to cast The Slinker to the shadows, where he couldn’t slay and eat humans, they will pay in the gallows.

I asked The Slinker what next and he told me to be quiet. He said his friends would be here soon and they’d all have a riot.

A large hole opened in the ground, black flames came shooting out. Monstruos shadows flew into my room with an ear piercing shout. This was bad for my gout.

They howled and hollered, The Slinker was happy. The Slinker’s wails echoed, and the monsters grew sappy. As they shouted and screamed, The Slinker smiled deviously, he was glad his army of monsters wasn’t crappy.

“Here’s your feet back,” The Slinker said, but as I stood up to move, they felt like led.

“Why can’t I move,” I asked frightened and my face turned red. He opened his mouth wide and swallowed me whole, I now lived inside his belly, and I wasn’t even dead.

fact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
13

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tammy Saphire 9 months ago

    What a rush!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    OMG!!! The ending was horrific!!! Loved this line, "A large hole opened in the ground, black flames came shooting out. Monstruos shadows flew into my room with an ear-piercing shout. This was bad for my gout."

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    Proper scary!

  • Whoaaaa hahahahaha the ending was sooooo awesome! The Slinker is so terrifying!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.