Poets logo

The Singer's Shepherd

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
William-Adolphe Bouguereau, "Homer & His Guide," 1874

His omniscient imagination

Rules kings, seduces virgins, slays soldiers

His songs forged the soul of this proud nation

But without my kind guidance, he falters

His verse makes a lion of Achilles

He dubbed the color of the sea wine dark;

He cannot see that Argos battles fleas

And has been saved from peril by his bark

His poems make the deceased eloquent

Scale Olympus, and plunge into Hades

His gait at my heels is not elegant

It is only with my eyes that he sees

The darkness of his orbs makes his mind bright

His genius I will shepherd; I have sight

Ekphrastic
3

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, I especially loved this line, "The darkness of his orbs makes his mind bright"!

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    The ancients make such great subjects!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.