Poets logo

The silent discrimination

By you

By Katie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The silent discrimination
Photo by Crawford Jolly on Unsplash

I am getting older, every day another brick placed in my life’s path.

Every day I hear the shouts, the screams about how one group or another is being discriminated against.

I am among the number that this has happened to. Though you wouldn’t know it. As I suffer it in silence. Preferring to remain in the shadows.

But this discrimination is different. This discrimination is stealthy, you’ve probably committed it without even realizing that you’ve done it. Perhaps I too may have committed this injustice in the past.

Even here on this site there may be some guilt. As I said it is stealthy. Maybe I’m being overly sensitive, maybe it’s all in my head.

Surely it is, or is it. When next you dismiss someone from consideration, or simply dismiss their contribution because of their age then yes you have discriminated. When next you say “ok boomer” in your snarky manner then yes you have discriminated. Every time I see that I’ve been dismissed to the margins simply by being older then yes that is discrimination.

This is a new attitude towards us, in the past the elder in society were mostly revered. But with the advent of social media this has changed, today we are dismissed. Today you have already moved on, you have already dismissed this piece because you can’t let this truth of your discrimination cause you any discomfort.

It’s not a fashionable discrimination, there are no banners, there are no charitable foundations. It is a silent discrimination and you are guilty.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.