Poets logo

Strings

A river of thoughts

By Katie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Strings
Photo by xandtor on Unsplash

I stand in the center of my life, my existence.

The strings of my thoughts stretching out in all directions.

Possibly interacting with strings from the thoughts of others.

What then do they do when and if this happens? Does this mingling change them, these thoughts? These other peoples thoughts influencing mine. And mine possibly changing theirs.

Isn’t this the way of things, a river of thoughts flowing together, becoming one. Yet stretching back to each individual, the connection to the thinker unbreakable. And can we learn from this river of humanity, this river of dreams and wishes?

Are the evil thoughts cast out of the river? The universe a huge filter of our less civil thoughts. Black holes sucking clean the galaxy. Where even light cannot escape.

Is it possible to imerse myself in this ocean, let it flow over me soaking into my skin, saturating my soul. Would it pollute me or cleanse me? What would I gain from this knowledge, could I survive such enlightenment?

What then would I do with such knowledge? The responsibility of so much knowledge causing me to do what? Is it possible that I would just turn my back on the human race, considering it as one would consider a bug. No longer able to hold my attention.

Or would I throw my knowledge across the river, sowing it everywhere for all to grasp. The seeds of knowledge growing in everyone’s consciousness.

Is it possible for us to gain all this knowledge and still hold on to our humanity, or would there be a trade off? Would we lose our emotions, our ability to feel compassion. Sometimes I think we have already.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.