Poets logo

The shine of the sun, heart of the fire

For Poppy's Colour Prompt!

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
The shine of the sun, heart of the fire
Photo by Arthur Poulin on Unsplash

The shine of the sun

Yolk so sweet

The glow of the buttercup

early rise in the sky

The high-vis sign of safety

lemon and blonde

The morning dunkable toast nectar

lush like honey

The feeling of uncertainty

ochre so bright and bold

The stripes of the pollenators

welcoming the day

The heart of the fire

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Note: For Poppy's colour prompt, you can find out more about here:

Hope you enjoy it! At least it's a bit more cheerful than some of my other recent pieces. Plus....there's a hidden acrostic! :)

If you have time and inclination, have a look at these, please:

Also, please take a look at the rest of my work here.

performance poetrysurreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Nice work Paul! 👏😊

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Every single line was honey to my ears! This is beautiful, Pal! Gorgeous descriptions and perfect entry!

  • Every other line. "Y-e-l-l-o-w" Very clever. Warm & sweet.

  • Yellow is My favorite color 🎨

  • Nice Opening 📝♥️👍😉

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    I adore this poem!! It has to be one of my new favourites of yours! I'd copy my favourite line but I think it's all of them. So well done Paul!

  • I'm losing my mind trying to find the acrostic! 😫 I give up. Please tell me what it is 🥺

  • Loved this poem… warm positive vibe!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Ooh i found the acrostic! Clever you! Love this! I am immersed in hufflepuff, lol. I wrote a yellow poem too the other day. Funny, same wavelength. I haven't posted it yet though.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.