Poets logo

The Shave

and a few lines from, possibly during and after

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Shave
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

i had a proper shave this morning

took off my moustache and goatee

now all my discarded whiskers

gather, as if mourning

as if forming

a sporadic pattern

around the plughole in the sink

i look up trying to see

through the film of moisture

obscuring my reflection

who is this ragged stranger

this red cheeked impostor

pretending to look like me

starring at me from my mirror

it used to be me standing here/there

wiping the condensation from the glass

to check out the clean of the cut

i don’t know this bloke looking at me

he seems, i sense;

something somehow familiar

not entirely dismissed or dissimilar

the skin of my face

is so soft to touch for now

i can see my chin again

i can blow air from my mouth

over my bottom lip

straight up my nostrils

if i want

i slowly begin to recognise

the man that stands before me

he was here before me

this man will stand here after me

the ghosts of my former selves

jostle in the mirror

jostle with parts of me

and parts of home

he is what we are plus me

complete and whole

parts of me

for all to see

the facial scar

i tried to hide

a part of me

and now it is

minus all that

morose and rejected

ex-facial hair

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.