Poets logo

The Sharpness of Your Claws

Newfound Apathy

By Poppy Published 10 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
9
Image Created with Midjourney

Did you think you could wash away the memories with hair dye and cover the wounds with a simple change of clothes?

I was never so foolish. I press the farewells to my skin like flowers in a closed book, saving them for later even whilst knowing they will look different with time. (Even knowing they were never pretty to begin with.)

Tell me, did carving out your heart rid you of the guilt? Did the hole in your chest hurt less with the knowledge that you had hollowed it out yourself?

Did you feel powerful, walking away? Did you feel powerful, leaving me there? Did you feel powerful, knowing your absence had cut the tendons in my legs and I couldn’t even get off the floor?

I used to write about how your gentle hands held my world together as if it were a pile of precarious cards. Now I lament about the sharpness of your claws and how apathetic you are about where they cut.

I’ll never understand how warmth can so quickly freeze over and a feather can so nonsensically turn to stone.

Here is my confession: your absence is liberating but the damage you left lingers like an infection, and I cannot seem to find any kind of antibiotic for it. I’m sure it must be your explanation, but you clutch that as tightly to your chest as you once held your affections for me. I wonder if you’ll one day drop it in the same way.

❀❀❀❀❀

Find more of my poetry and prose below:

heartbreaksad poetry
9

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 10 months ago

    Very powerful. Hurt does lie deep. But we must move on.

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Oh, this is tragic!!! Excellent writing, deep contrasts, I love this so much!!

  • I feel this, Poppy, deeply. I've lost track of how many times it has happened to me. I wonder how many times I've been the perpetrator.

  • Oh gosh!!!!!! I freaking loved this sooooo muchhhhhh! It's like you wrote everything that I'm feeling right now. You're fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.