Poets logo

The Shadow in the Mirror

A Poem Based on Juan Roberto Diago Durruthy’s Artwork

By Lil OsirisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo taken of Juan Roberto Diago Durruthy’s, Untitled, 2019.

In the bathroom mirror

The shadow greets me again.

We’re past formalities

So I say, “It’s you again!”

As his empty response echoes,

I feel the urge to escape.

I could fly from L.A. to Tokyo,

Or New York to Paris.

Get lost in a coral reef,

Or the endless void of space.

No matter how far I run,

Still you’d be there.

A culmination of everything

I wished I would never be.

A bitter taste of defeat,

To these monsters that won’t leave.

Yet I know, you are me.

The darkest part of me.

A void that pulls me like gravity.

The further I fall in, the faster I drop.

Until no differences are seen,

Lines blurred between you and me.

Staring me down like a reflection

And as a match to a flame,

Further fueling the you in me.

But you were the spark

I wish I could castaway.

Not bound by the sliver wall

I always see you in.

You come alive in my world,

And force me to be your friend.

You clutch onto me

Like a virus needs its host.

Yet I know there’s no escape

I am too afraid to confront.

Forever running around issues,

Ghosts of my past still come to haunt.

An endless loop as the cycle restarts.

Now even when the sun shines,

It doesn’t seem so bright.

Even though it’s all good,

I can’t see the light.

Trapped inside a tunnel

Where the day has gone to night.

All my demons taking over

Stole the driver out my mind.

And I keep moving forward

Knowing I could make it right.

But these shadows multiply,

And I wish that they would die.

Reflecting all my faults,

Falling down, still I rise.

Like a phoenix out the ashes,

Guess I made it through the night.

inspirational

About the Creator

Lil Osiris

I have interests is many different places such as gaming, art, music, writing, finance, tech and also more.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lil OsirisWritten by Lil Osiris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.