Poets logo

The search for home

I carry the pieces with me

By India GrantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I wish I could bottle the smell of spring

Sell it to people who need a joyous ping

Sweet Gardenias fill the night air

A tango of flavour with a Jasmine flare

Native flowers with reds that pop

Oh beautiful nature your scent makes me stop

The warmth inside me it does bring

Something that makes me hold on and cling

I wish I could bring the sweet birds song

To the cities traffic jams vacant of natures gong

I wish that I could take the humid air

Wrap it around me like a scarf I could wear

I wish I could create colours that pop

Like the native flowers beauty crop

I wish I felt this at peace all the time

Walking around that neighbourhood of mine

I wish I could call this place home forever

But there are other things in life to endeavour

Yet this is the place where I grew up

Probably the closest thing to home I ever gave up

Too much pain too much sorrow

However, I'll work to get through it tomorrow

That's just how life is

A broken home or person begins

But you work through it to come home eventually

To mend the pieces of your family

But maybe home is on the other side of the world

Far away from what this life unfurled

Maybe it's in Europe or Asia too

With some strangers searching for meaning just like you

Maybe home is in the cities as cold as they are

Filled with opportunities that could take you far

It's hard to find a home in such a confusing world

A multitude of places and people unfurled

Though I think I am merely young and too curious to settle

Too much life to experience to take my foot off the pedal

Nevertheless to find the meaning of home is a puzzle

Every day there are new things to guzzle

One step at a time I'll find my place in the world

That place to call home, a place I am perfectly whorled

But I'll take with me that sweet birds song

Play it through speakers for the cities gong

And when I'm in bed wrapped in a blanket

For a moment I'll feel like I've finally found it

Do not worry to those I have met

I'll have you all in my hearts forever yet

You have all played a part in what home means to me

Along with Mother Natures birds and bee

There is one more place that holds dear to my heart

A little contradiction of where a home can start

A strange place to find it - boy do I know

Is when I'm putting on a stage show

It's something that's taken me from place to place

And helps me to find the truth within this rat race

When I am without it I start to feel lost

Maybe that's a sign of home if it comes at a cost

It connects me to my families past -

Because we're crazy enough to be in the arts!

People and places feel temporary

Like anything could happen between you and me

Yet when there is a film or theatre show

If you're not putting it on off to the cinema we can go!

And see how others navigate in the world

Say the things that make my own words swirled

To belong to something so far away

Sometimes is difficult to bring into my day

Yet it accepts all that I am and is always there

Even when life's fruits do seem so bear

Home is a combination of all of these things

Not one part to pinpoint or tied to by strings

I hope one day to combine it all

Maybe then this world will make sense in the long hall

nature poetry

About the Creator

India Grant

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    India GrantWritten by India Grant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.