Poets logo

The Scent Of You

I smell your slightly dirty hair

By Robin EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The Scent Of You

I smell your slightly dirty hair

and see dark roots pushing thru

...you smell of stale cigarettes

...stale coffee

and stale attitude

I know you have

a fearsome spirit

I can smell it on your breath

I can smell it on my skin

after your caress

So go ahead and pretend...

...that you don’t even care

...you don’t have a dream left...

a thought left

a place left...

for me to ever share

You only show your fearsomeness

to those that give you pause

to those that don’t flatter you

swagger you

badger you

or bring out your

polished claws

The scent of you is like a poison

lingering gently on my lips

killing me softly...

killing me slowly

as you trace my quivering mouth

with your calloused fingertips

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Robin Edwards

Robin is a veteran, having proudly served in the United States Air Force. She worked as a speech therapist for several years before retiring. She enjoys writing, working on art, and margaritas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.