Poets logo

The Run, The Chase, The Follow

By Jean BrucePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Art by Redoluna on Gaiaonline. A Commissioned piece of Daimon (Left) and Ein (Right) the subjects of these recurring dreams

At the age of fourteen,

I went to school,

And met a boy,

Named Ein.

Hair of white,

Like threads of dreams,

And freckles,

Like stars in the sky.

Ein runs,

While I Chase,

A sense of foreboding,

Behind us.

At age fourteen,

I went to school,

And met a boy,

Named Daimon.

Hair as dark,

As Nightmare's mane,

And a presence,

Dark as the night sky.

I run,

While Daimon follows,

A sense of foreboding,

Surrounds us.

Though strange on its own,

The pattern recurs,

The Run, The Chase, The Follow,

Every year or so.

As I age,

So do they,

As though each dream,

Is a visit.

Ein the dream,

Always brings light,

Yet runs from me,

When I notice.

Daimon the nightmare,

Always brings darkness,

Yet follows me,

And I notice.

Why Chase the dream,

That Runs from me,

When nightmare Follows,

Behind?

Ein runs,

While I Chase,

And Daimon Follows,

For a lifetime.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jean Bruce

They/Them, 32. Writes Horror/Mystery/Fantasy and occasionally Reviews. I enjoy joining the contests. Friendly and easy to approach, talk to me about writing!~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    I like what you did here. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.