Poets logo

the rose in the storm

Poem and Photo by Autumn Nolan

By Autumn LarsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

My life is like the rain.

It’s just a sprinkle one moment

And next moment you are crying and begging for it to stop

I have no control over what others think of me

I just know people come and go like the rain

But you….

Oh you……

Your different

Your like a rose

That comes back each year

Your beauty is protected by your thorns

They make you stronger

It shields you from the pain

From the welting petals

From all the little hands that grab a hold of you

They grab and yank your neighbor away

Free from where they use to grow

Wildly and peacefully

The weeds are jealous of your undying beauty

Greedily they steal away your life source

Bickering and growing

They are growing close to you

They starting to grow onto you

You have all play this endless same game

Since the day you first knew you were here to stay

Like your thorns

They just keep on taking your beauty

But here I am now

Don’t you worry now

Because you are my rose

Fear no more

Cause I cause I am your knight

in not so shiny armor

For here I am

I have the shears that will tear down

and rip apart all that hurts you

For your beauty

I will tear down the world

One petal falls to the ground

Oh I shall chase after it

Oh cause I love you so

With each petal that falls

I can begin to see you are so beautiful

Oh so your scent leaks to the ground

and twirls its way into the sky

Where every creature can sense it

I shall stomp feet

I shall summon all of my strength

Cause for you my rose

there is nothing in this world

I wouldn’t do

They are all around me now

Like the wild wolves that they clearly are

Oh, their claws dig so deeply into me

I shall not fall

I shall not go

For you are my rose

I do not care

For If they kill me

I hope you know

you make me who I am

For you I will stand in the rain

without a desperately needed shelter

For I see you

Oh my do you stand so proudly

The thunder is now here

I shall rush out towards you

Without thinking

Without knowing

But knowing by heart that you need me

There you are my rose

The rose standing proudly in the storm

Oh, my beauty

You are the rose in the storm

I shall never let you go

For if I do

I will lose

what I desperately need the most

I shall not forget you

I shall not let you battle this undying

and undeniable storm called life

For you are my star in the night

So brightly shining as you show me the way

For you are my coat

I so clingy hold tightly too

For you are my air

Without you my lungs were quit

For you are my heart

All that love and all I that need

For you are my smile

That never seems out of place

For you are the light in unending tunnel of life

You guide to safety and to love

Oh for you are my best friend

So strong and beautiful

An undying soul

Forever in mine own

For you are my best friend

Who makes laugh so hard

That I nearly die

Oh for you best friend

There is nothing in this world

I Wouldn’t do

love poems

About the Creator

Autumn Larson

My name is Autumn Larson

I believe in the truth of the heart and hard work.

I want to inspire and touch people's hearts

I am a part time store clerk and full time inspired writer, poet, artist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Autumn LarsonWritten by Autumn Larson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.