Poets logo

The Road Less Traveled

Pave the Way

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago 1 min read
4
“Perhaps the road is only rocky because it needs to be paved.” -Annie Edwards

THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED

Perhaps the road is only rocky

because it needs to be paved.

Yet, my own mind is my enemy,

and to it I feel enslaved.

I am formed by my beliefs,

masked as truths,

so deeply engraved.

Can I really blame feeling deprived

on a world so cruel and depraved?

Grasping for a sense of direction,

I stop…

waiting to be saved.

However, I am the only one

who can relinquish that power I’ve waived.

How is it so easy to forget all the hardships that I've braved?

Revisiting only the darkness, I retreat into my cave.

What’s would the world look like if I explored the life I’ve craved?

But those who fight for change often come off as misbehaved.

Yet, I'm convinced

that many social norms

are what make us dig our graves.

So..

perhaps this untraveled, rocky road

is merely waiting to be paved.

And I’m not here to make ripples

I’m here to make waves.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.