Poets logo

The Regret of Truth

The regret of telling you

By Angel Sparks Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Telling you was the hardest, yet most uplifting thing I could have ever done.

Telling you made me feel complete.

Telling you made things awkward,

yet it brought us more together

I felt as light as a feather.

But telling you weighed heavier than the world.

The truth felt like overload.

The truth setting the course it did.

Telling a straight girl, very uncanny.

But so was not telling you.

But that was the start of the ending.

I’m not bluffing if I could go back I would have rather what we had.

Rather risk it all just to go back in the past.

The past not long ago.

The past that kept us together.

As birds of a feather.

Simple and always laughing together.

I would have gotten over it we would have stayed friends.

Or it would have still needed to be said, blending together once again.

Or you saying “no.”

And us staying friends.

With regret and peace.

Both battling to keep,

The regret of the truth is;

I would rather put two fists in the wall that lose this.

Lose you.

The friendship that I could’ve grew with,

but it would hurt because you would be there.

Not content with just a stare.

You needed to know!

Maybe not, but even so.

I miss you but you don’t miss us.

I’m sorry but not really you were my main though.

My ride or die on the side.

The girl I could go to.

Rain or shine.

Snow or ice.

The regret of the truth.

Right person, wrong time.

Wrong person, right time.

I don’t mind cause it’s done and I’m left here with the pieces wondering if what happened to me affected what we could be or if I just liked the fantasy of you and me.

It happened it’s gone just go and move along

Maybe I’m wrong I’ll never know

The feeling of letting go.

The truth that I let you know.

The regret, ever growing, always knowing, that I can’t let you go.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angel Sparks

To me, words will always go with actions, they are beautiful, dicey and all together fun. Actions complete those words, especially when conveying a deep message, I hope to do just that.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.