Poets logo

The Red Bridge

By Julie (Hannemann) Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
25
The Red Bridge I remember

I am a foot bridge,

I'm tired and worn from years of boots and shoes.

My wood is cracking,

and I have been blocked off from human use.

*

My red paint gives me pride, like the pathway I provide

And the water I'm astride.

*

I span a river,

With its current slowly tickling my feet.

It's called the Fish Hook,

A finer river you will never meet.

*

My red paint gives me pride, like the pathway I provide

And the water I'm astride.

*

Here in Park Rapids,

The kids play water sports all summer long

And then it freezes,

In winter, ice houses are standing strong.

*

My red paint gives me pride, like the pathway I provide

And the water I'm astride.

*

I felt like crying

The day they took me down, towed me away,

But then they put me

Into a park, and now I'm here to stay.

*

My new paint gives me pride, like the fun that I provide,

As the kids across me stride, in the park, now river side.

The old "Foot Bridge," or "Red Bridge" gets new life

This was a fun walk down memory lane, having grown up right on the Fish Hook River in Park Rapids, Minnesota.

performance poetry
25

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.