Poets logo

The Rains from the Heavens

Villanelle Challenge Entry.

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
14
The Rains from the Heavens
Photo by Malcolm Lightbody on Unsplash

The rains from the heavens, do not discriminate

They cleanse and sanctify all the same

and offer a pause to both ruminate and celebrate

*

Whether they pelt down hard or oh so delicate

Can envigorate you or leave you tame

The rains from the heavens, do not disciminate

*

All the lush greens needs the rain to irrigate

After a dry spell, they deserveo acclaim

and offer a pause to both ruminate and celebrate

*

When storms do rage, the rainfall can obliterate

The unknowns and those of fame

The rains from the heavens, do not discriminate

*

Gaze skywards to the clouds where they originate

As the land, the sky's waters they reclaim

and offer a pause to both ruminate and celebrate

*

It feels just, right and proper to recapitulate

How percipitation above calls me to proclaim

The rains from the heavens, do not discriminate

and offer a pause to both ruminate and celebrate

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Another Villanelle for the challenge, find out more below. Yeah, the style is getting under my skin...

Here are a few others you might like:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

My book, debut book, Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is out now on Amazon, in Kindle and paperback formats. Find out more here.

surreal poetryvintagesocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Another excellent villanelle, integral to both our concepts of what it means to be human/humane & the gospel itself. One editorial note: in the eleventh line you have an extraneous "n" in "unknonwns".

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love how the balance of the poem style is echoed in the balance of two halves of our natures.

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Oh my dear goodness....(insert mind exploding emoji here) Flaily face! This is gorgeous, Paul! You are incredible at this style! I think you may have a new calling. Paul's Book d'villanelle! :) The imagery you created is just... no words. Speaking of book, I GOT YOURS! It's absolutely beautiful and I have so enjoyed reading it! You did such an incredible job on it! It's truly a masterpiece to be proud of! Congrats, Pal! Raising a tea cup to you now!

  • "As the land, the sky's waters they reclaim". This line made me realise that the land and sky are playing tennis and the ball is water. It blew my mind. Your villanelle was so profound! 🍩🥐

  • Impressive effort... the sturcture seems way too complex for me!! Far North Queensland's ex-cyclone Jasper has just dumped 1084mls of rain in 48 hours... apparently flooding highest on record, "When storms do rage, the rainfall can obliterate"... very true of the roads and highway down one mountain range!

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    "When storms do rage, the rainfall can obliterate" Oooooo what a forbidding line. I love the word obliterate 😬 innocently, I swear. Are we all experiencing rain right now? It's almost Winter in the northern hemisphere, so probably. lol (Am I lame for answering my own questions?)

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Very nicely done, as I listen to the rain fall outside my window.

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Outstanding wordplay Paul.

  • kory salajka5 months ago

    LOVE this! Well done 💫 and love the contemplation it brought me on a lovely morning. Thank you!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I’ve not read any of your villanelle poems yet I shall get to those tomorrow.💤 I like the rain theme though (again). I smell another book. 🌧 ☺️

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.