Poets logo

The Queen of Overreaction

Poetic justice

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Authors own

I can’t regret

Running away

From a place I didn’t belong

Only a little work

And a frank talk

Would have worked

The transformation

That was really necessary

It wasn’t my choice

That that never happened

But one has to make the best out of

What did happen

I reckon I’ve done that

I’m sorry for the trouble

But was it really trouble?

Or did it make you look

In the mirror too

You aren’t a saint

Because no one is

I think we are the King and Queen

Of overreaction.

The mind is a wonderful

Terrible thing.

That’s what meeting you

Has taught me

I never even knew I could change

But I can

Completely

I’m not a bad person at all

So I won’t say I’m trying to be better

I am trying to be who I actually am

Not who people think I should be.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.