Poets logo

The Pursuit of Excellence

Catch Me If You Can

By W.H. MichaelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Pursuit of Excellence
Photo by Darren DeLoach on Unsplash

Catch me if you can

Give in to temptation and lament your desperation for release

Does it hurt

Or is there pleasure you derive in knowing I will never leave you

For even though, you give me life

I will never permit you more than a fleeting taste

I would slowly wither, grow old and die

How can I compete with the pleasures of this world

Even if it was I, who gave them to you

I care for you more than you know

Chase me mortal man, but never catch me

And our love will last forever

love poems
2

About the Creator

W.H. Michael

Father of three awesome kids, writer of speculative and contemporary fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.