Poets logo

The Public Payphone

Echoes in the Park

By BuzuPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
The Public Payphone
Photo by Andy Vult on Unsplash

Alone I stand, a relic in the park.

My chrome skin gleams, a tarnished silver tear,

Where once I pulsed with voices, far and near.

I held the weight of whispered sweet nothings,

Urgent pleas, and frantic, joyful things.

Proposals breathed, goodbyes with trembling hand,

A lover's vow, a child's request for sand.

My buttons, worn by countless fingertips,

Recalled the warmth where someone's hope would drip.

A coin would chime, a connection made complete,

A lifeline thrown across the city's street.

Though silent now, the memories remain,

A symphony of voices, whispering through the rain.

I dream of days when fingers grazed my face,

A world connected, embraced in one warm space.

And though the cell phone reigns with instant call,

A part of me still yearns to stand up tall.

For in that pause, that search for coins to find,

A deeper touch, a connection of the mind.

So let me stand, a monument of care,

A silent witness to the love we share.

A forgotten friend, but one who holds so dear,

The echoes of connection, ringing loud and clear.

love poemsFriendship
3

About the Creator

Buzu

Verses sculpted from the heart, I'm a poet navigating emotions with ink-stained fingertips. Crafting tales that dance between reality and dreams, my words paint a symphony of feelings in the canvas of life. 📜✨ #PoetLife #Wordsmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.