Poets logo

The Prayer

A Moment in Time

By Madilyn HunterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Prayer
Photo by Stu Lauren on Unsplash

I tuck my knees into my chest,

And I place my head between my arms.

My hands rest above my head,

Palms facing up.

I feel my warm breath on my face,

And I close my eyes.

Then I cry,

I cry my soul from my body.

My eyes are wet as I continue to beg for:

Forgiveness,

Guidance,

Help.

I plead to do better,

Help me.

Help me show my love for my family,

Though they are far away.

I cry my troubles out,

I wash my mind clean of all that’s buried in it.

Then -

A light blanket is placed on me.

My tense body loosens.

I’m at peace.

I feel the Lord place me beside Him.

I now walk beside Him,

Once again.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.