Poets logo

The Power of Trust

Something beyond our control

By Augmented ManPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by SHVETS production from Pexels

We live in the space of trust,

a space that keeps us safe,

but sometimes it’s easy to forget that there is something else. Something beyond our control.

To trust is to hear the songs of the broken

in a way that doesn’t make you want to heal them

to trust is to hear the songs of the lonely

in a way that doesn’t make you feel unloved

Trust is difficult. It’s hard to trust others, but it’s even harder to trust yourself. It’s easy to imagine what life would be like without this important emotion, but imagine each day where you are constantly questioning your choices. Yet, when you are open to trusting others, the world opens up for you in ways that might never be possible if you don’t allow yourself the freedom of trust.

When it comes to our own sanity, though, trusting ourselves is overwhelming. We often convince ourselves of things that we don’t necessarily want; we decide to make decisions that we don’t necessarily want to make. Trust takes on such a new light when you start to apply it to your own life. It’s difficult, but it’s essential.

If you’re having trouble trusting yourself, try telling yourself the truth. Then, repeat it to keep yourself in check. Be honest with yourself, and be honest with others. The fact will always guide you home.

Slowly, I learn to trust the air.

It is an ocean of springs and crashes

accumulated into a cloud that we breathe,

wonderous and unrelenting.

The sky is not a solemn place; it is a church for our hearts — ascension to be free from all faithlessness,

I am steeped in sky-faith as I pray.

I try to push out a smile

as if to say “thank you.”

for having given me the gift of being able to appreciate just how wonderful it is to live

just how wondrous it is

to be alive just how tremendous it is for one tiny creature like myself to walk out into the world in a way that allows me to feel in tune with all that is in the universe.

I live my existence in the knowledge of the fact that

there is something far beyond our understanding

with the awareness of the fact that I cannot see, touch, or feel it

so I try to hold my hands out.

Thank you for reading my story. I hope you enjoyed it — and that you try it out online. I encourage you to continue to comment and interact. I love hearing from you. I post my stories and other work (including my poetry and NFTs) on my Twitter

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Augmented Man

#artinDATAspace

https://twitter.com/AugmentedMan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.