Poets logo

The Power of the NO

I felt power when I told you no

By Amourè DeezyyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Sergiu Roman - unbearable childhood

I felt power when I told you no

Yes man, going when you say go

Making myself feel high, at an all-time low

Dead grass I was left to mow

New roots I was forced to grow

You asked me to catch a train about 20 stops away

If I was to leave at night, I’ll arrive by day

No, No, No I’m done

I wish a mother properly raised her son

Untethered now bitch, you got the right one

I was drowned by your waters so I headed for the sun

The load of this trauma had to weigh a ton

Let that be the last song you sung

I was wrong, I tried to deceive you

Everything I attempted just to please you

That’s weird that I couldn’t believe you

You already thought I wouldn’t leave you

So I branched out, yea grew like tree’s do

Be clear crazy this is not to tease you

I just want to know how many lives you bleed through

Maybe you so invisible that I only I could see you

Won’t deny I want you to live your life

I walked away once when you looked back twice

Guarantee I chose fate while you rolled the dice

Lucky777 did you not see it?

Too many awakenings to count I guess about three if

You allow me to count the times I died

Too many years our souls were tied

It made me stagnant, still, aloof

All I had was memory as proof

The cord was cut but it didn’t feel loose

A child was born not knowing about her dad

All those experiences you pray she never has -

I had,

Trauma residue on my brand new exterior

We all want to heal because it sounds superior

I don’t have to let you know

I felt power when I let it go

* Thanks for reading my poem. If you resonated and enjoyed it, please let me know by hitting the heart, subscribing for more content, and considering dropping a small tip to help encourage and fund further creations from me. Appreciated, never required!

Many thanks.

You can also check out my recent poem “Out Grew Witches Brew ” here:

slam poetry

About the Creator

Amourè Deezyy

Unorthodox woman creating soul-feeding content for great people who are connecting with themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amourè DeezyyWritten by Amourè Deezyy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.