Poets logo

The Power of Addiction

Addiction can be a strong influence on our day to day life

By Daniel CottlesPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
The Power of Addiction
Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

My heart beats fast when the rush of the high begins. I can’t control the rate of which I breathe. Only the rate I consume. When I take a puff, drink, sniff; a peek, I rise from this doom I have brought myself to.

//

For when I rise, I fall. Every great event, eventually, has tragedy. I fall in a fatigued state; can’t pull myself out. While I fall, I wish the high never happened. I wish I never gave into these human desires. I wish I had the strength to stand tall.

//

The problems I faced; then ignored, came crawling back. I sit in awe, while I realize I became the problem and held myself back from success. I could have solved the impossible equations that would have brought the correct answers into my life. Now I’m just out of the fight.

//

There’s no hope now. I wasted my money, time, efforts; resources. Yes, resources. That’s what I need. More substances to put my troubled mind at ease. For this world is too much to bear. My cares, my worries; my problems will fade away, if I just take one last hit of this dirt for one more day.

Stream of ConsciousnessProseMental Health

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Daniel CottlesWritten by Daniel Cottles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.