Poets logo

The Plan

Father

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I had a dad; so big and strong!

He could never do any wrong.

Every song he sang was always rang in my heart.

One day he even told me I was just like him.

I was so proud.

I told all so loud, my dad was the best!

Better than the rest, I put him far above all the rest.

One day I came home and something was wrong?

A sound of sorrow fell upon my ears.

So many people in tears.

Was it my fear that something so clear would not be so near?

Mother standing so weak.

Eyes swollen in tears and so many around her.

Where is daddy I asked?

Mommy dropped to her knees clutching her face hollowing an anguish.

Where is daddy I shouted?

He can make this better!

I ran past Mommy to the house.

Quiet as a mouse and not a word spoken.

All eyes on me, am I broken?

Run to the room, empty and quiet.

A hand on my shoulder, caused such a shiver.

A gentle voice spoken, son I´m sorry, there is no need to worry,

Daddy is gone to rest with all the best daddy’s.

God has taken him for the children above.

Isn´t is odd that god took him from me, when I still need him?

Be strong son, now mommy needs you.

Time to be a man, it´s part of the plan.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.