Poets logo

The Piper’s Inheritance

Baby got back-up- an ancestral army of Scottish Warlords and Pipers heeding the call of their kin

By Meagan Rankin (M. L Rand) Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

When I have a child, I’m going to lead with honesty. Even when it’s hard.

All the reasons I’ve waited, and lessons I’ve learned will be wrapped up in bedtime stories, open fire confessions, laughter, tears, and plenty of ice cream. I want to be memorable, because I know these stories will long outlive me.

But all that will come later.

First, I’ll hold them close, counting all their toes, fingers, and every single strand of peach fuzz. I’ll kiss their cheeks, sort out whose nose they have, and gaze into their eyes to see who I recognize.

I’ll give them a first name that sets them apart, so they never have to measure up to anyone but themselves.

And their middle name will be an inside joke. Something that makes us both laugh every time I’m angry enough to use it.

I won’t struggle with their last name. It already belongs to both warrior and scribe. This child will never wonder who would fight for them, or play with them. And I will teach them to pipe us all to any battle.

But a name and a story isn’t all I will leave them. My legacy is resilience. Soaring through the flames of fires I started is half a super power that I hope they earn the easy way. But if it is the hard way, at least they’ll know how to fife their troops to life.

And lastly, for my child, I will sacrifice quantity for quality. Knowing that while I may not see them into their old age, I will give them the strength to get there without me. And when I’m long gone from this plane, I will keep my ear pressed to the veil- so should they whisper defeat, I will raise the dead. An ancestral army behind each step, because life is filled with battles- and if they’re anything like me, they’ll want to win.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Meagan Rankin (M. L Rand)

Canadian Writer living the prairie life. I enjoy writing both fiction and non fiction. My preferred genres being scriptwriting, poetry, and short stories. As a PSCI alumni, I also enjoy reading and engaging in political discourse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.