Poets logo

The Pink Ribbon Reminds Me...

The ribbon never gave her a fighting chance.

By Screamin TearzPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
When he is older he will enjoy the legacy that his grandmother left behind, but in the meantime he will miss the warmth of her love flowing from her heart.

The pink ribbon reminds me of something painful you see.

It holds the memories of what was taken from me.

It reminds me of that day; my mother was taken away.

"I love you" are the last words she will ever hear me say.

The ribbon represents the shadow of a ghost.

In my mother's case, her breast was the host.

As her days grew short with no answer in sight.

I would have given up my life it would have helped her win her fight.

To win the fight to carry on another day,

And to also grow old and watch her grandchildren play.

Each stage of the disease much more painful than the last.

Wanting and waiting for all of it to past.

There is a very small chance for anyone to beat this beast.

After the last treatment she could barely stand on her own; much less enjoy an elaborate feast.

So when I see this ribbon it brings back all the pain.

My eyes begin to water, and down my face comes the rain.

You ask me to wear this day after day,

But I can't because the heart stands in my way.

How much can I do to prepare?

What difference is made because of the ribbon I wear?

None that my eyes can see my mother's still not here to hold and comfort me.

I weep for all the pain she had to bare.

I weep for all the days that we will never share.

All because of a puzzle with no answer. A puzzle we all know as cancer.

We Still Must Smile...

Several of the grandchildren that will never know her love. Along with a daughter and a son- in- law missing a part of their family.

The poem above captures most of the emotions that I felt pertaining to losing my mother to cancer.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Screamin Tearz

A writer is only as good as her next adventure. Travel with me through my colorful journey called life, and you will see so many new versions of yourself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Screamin TearzWritten by Screamin Tearz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.