Poets logo

The Passing of Time

When we are too aware

By Parwana FayyazPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
6
Swans of Cambridge

It was just yesterday that has now gone by

In the blink of an eye

I felt fatigued the whole day, so I slept facedown on a pillow

I couldn't help but feel pitiful for myself

I pulled myself together

Invoking an image in my mind

Everything smelt of dried sweat, so I gave up on the idea of imagining

I dropped my jacket and picked up my legs to carry me

Midway I stopped, I turned around

I changed my mind

I paced along the river, eyes fixated on its shimmers

I said hello to the swans, who were hungry for grain

I was hungry for their feathers, so I swam in my unspoken miseries

Then I saw the swans' reflection in the water

Heading toward the sky with a heavy flight

To feed my mind, became less and less pleasing

Weariness and grace could hardly hold each other

I ran toward my room, thinking about the moving objects around

My feet felt light and I was already tired of the day

Believe it or not, it was just yesterday

Mental Healthperformance poetrynature poetryGratitudeEkphrasticart
6

About the Creator

Parwana Fayyaz

I am an Afghan writer. Forty Names, my first collection of poetry, was published in 2021 and named a New Statesman Book of the Year and a White Review Book of the Year. I also translate both poetry and fiction from Persian into English.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    captivates with a melancholy meditation on time and contemplation, producing a beautiful yet powerful story that blends nature's serenity with the intricacies of human emotion.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    This leaves lot of room for interpretation, and the imagery of the swans is lovely. “Heading toward the sky with a heavy flight” is a wonderful line. Nice! Good luck with the challenge😊

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    So was it a dream? Or... a near-death experience? Those are my impressions. Very thought-provoking. I read the reverse part twice because it sounded so calming.

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Melancholy and beautiful. Nice work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.