Poets logo

The Work is Undone There

Healing Through Words

By Parwana FayyazPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Stourbridge Common, Cambridge University, November 2020 @4pm

Rumi is always mystifying.

His world is filled with inner voices and truth.

And that's why his poetry touches me and you to this day.

I read him when I find myself stuck in a state of being,

or not being.

In one word: when I question me and my choices,

In two words, when I am worried and anxious in magnitude.

Rumi tells me, there is always a chance to make it right,

only if you know how and why you got there, where you find yourself.

Trace back your path, and evaluate your choices.

At times, that can also mean looking at yourself in the mirror,

seeing (really seeing) all the things you are, and you are not.

achieved or not achieved, wished or not wished.

Life is all about becoming and being. Whether it is mindful or spirits.

All Rumi teaches us, is that in every lesson there is poetry.

But here is the most beautiful couplet, which I translate for you.

آن ره که بیامدم کدامست

تا بازروم که کار خامست

The way I took to come here, which is it,

for I need to return, the work is undone there.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Parwana Fayyaz

I am an Afghan writer. Forty Names, my first collection of poetry, was published in 2021 and named a New Statesman Book of the Year and a White Review Book of the Year. I also translate both poetry and fiction from Persian into English.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding! Awesome story,

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Rumi's work is amazing and inspirational. Always feels like a weight is lifted off your shoulders when you read Rumi's work. Lovely tribute!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.