Poets logo

The Painting

Love between brush and canvas.

By Becca MaharPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Art has always found its way

into my heart.

A time in history

standing still

without a care in the world.

The faces of those who have passed

still looking from beyond the grave.

A soul attachment,

a longing for movement.

The most precious painting

is of a young woman

with a bouquet of roses.

Smiling softly, as if a lover has gifted her a diamond ring.

Smiles like that are hard to capture

in with a camera.

Pale skin that whispers secrets

among the brushstrokes.

Golden hair wrapped around

my fingers with daintiness that

never exists in the real world.

A baby blue dress that never really fit

you correctly, but over the years it

seems to fit you more and more.

How I wish to pull you out of there,

my love.

One day, I will.

Until then, allow me to visit

and paint whatever you like onto your portrait.

Time will never escape us,

even in death.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becca Mahar

Poetry is my passion. I tend to spill my heart out in my writing, so if you enjoy compelling emotional poems, my page is for you. I'm a neverending abyss of emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.