Poets logo

The Pagemaster

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My heart is like paper

Too over-used

So I tear it to tatters

For long have I mused

For something that matters

To put on these pages

But still my mind scatters

In crumpled up rages

To piece it together

And let the ink spill

Instead of the blood

From the love that I kill

Just to bathe in the flood

Of these heartbroken pages

And wallow in mud

As the madness engages

The siren's white noise

Deafening reverie

Shall make me a slave

To my black elegy

As I'm penning my grave

To bury these pages

Entombed in a cave

Of selfishness cages

Where Ego proclaims

This man had no name

His words were but dust

In the void of his shame

So let him be thrust

To Oblivion's pages

To empty his lust

For life's final stages

Forever reflecting

The face of Grim's reap

Hellfire hath scorned

My soul too dead to keep

No, I perish adorned

In these undying pages

To be never-mourned

By the turning of ages

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.