Poets logo

The Orphan

To be or not to be

By Riana LovePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Orphan
Photo by Persnickety Prints on Unsplash

How else am I supposed to feel

How else am I supposed to be

Can I really appreaciate the people who left me in the cold

At least in my heart and mentally

All I needed was a hug sometimes

All I needed was some love

Because family has to do more than just provide a roof over your head

What about the bonding

What happened to teaching etiqutte

I don't want to bring shame

And yet I have in vain with the mention of a name

In truth I'd rather be an orphan

I'd rather never know how many times I was abandoned

Especially when all I ever wanted to do was help

So why couldn't they just tell me

Why was I never allowed to have any fun

Why couldn't anyone see a young little girl who really just needed some love

Sure I suppose giving me money and stealing it was the best kind of love

Punching, choking, and slapping was better than talking and saying what the problem really was

I can't seem to get over this feeling with a kid of my own

I've never been able to perform under pressure

I guess that's why now I can't get any love

Maybe the truth is that I just wasn't tough enough

When really I just wanted to stay out of trouble

I was told to mind my business and so that's what I did

Apparently today it makes me a narcissist

For focusing on myself instead of assuming and making stuff up

Digging deep into my brain now

I think I need an exorcist

Maybe even a hypnotist

I don’t want to remember the pain anymore

I don’t want to keep going through this

I want my child to have a better fate

I just don’t feel strong enough to teach him through it

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.