Poets logo

The One Addicted

Am I addicted to him or to addiction itself?

By CarolinePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The One Addicted
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

Dear Addiction,

I've never known addiction, until I learned another persons mind. I thought I could stop cold turkey, as with all of those other times. Then his body felt mine, and addiction quickly became my personal fame.

I now almost crave addiction, or atleast the idea that I couldn't ever get addicted to something. I fought every ounce in my body to forget him, but I relapsed every time at the sound of his name. I never knew what relapse was until I saw him walk away that one time.

I'd say I avoided addictions in my life, but then I felt his touch and learned his mind. Now I can't say that anymore because I realized how addicted to him I am. I could tell myself to just move on, but then what would be the fun in that?

I never thought addiction could be the life for me. I even tested it to make sure that I was always able to break free. Then I felt his kiss against my lips, and all I can say now is I can only try to be fine. I now not only crave it, but revolve my life around the name.

I never knew addiction could be a person. I thought addiction was just a drug. Perhaps a swivel of liquor down my throat, or a head high that got me feeling all sorts of way. Well, once I got that first taste, I learned that he makes me all sorts of ways too.

I first became addicted to him as a person, someone my soul craved to see. But I knew that cravings got old, so I thought these feelings would have waved. I became addicted to addiction, wondering what about him it could be. Then time became an obsession, as much as his last name.

Yes, time only got that best of me, as my heart longed for him more and more. I found my mind thinking about nothing more, and my eyes to constantly be laid on his. I obsessed about what we had done, I wondered what we woul do next. I wished an hour past like seconds when he was away; I wished seconds were days when I got him to stay.

Is this addiction an addiction to love? Or an addiction to something else? I don't know if my head has just gone wild, or if my body has literally reacted to a new pulse. I wonder if I am addicted to him, or perhaps to addiction itself.

Since this addiction has started, my pulse can raise to 100 miles an hour, or fall extremely low when he is not around. I get these highs that makes me feel like I am leaving physical ground and I literally hate every second that he is not near. That is why I hate it, hate it when he is gone. I am not only addicted to him, but addicted to the addiction I've created for myself.

I can Addiction is just an idea, and that I am stronger that that. I mean it is all in my mind, or atleast I keep telling myself that. I will never admit it outloud, I would never tell him or anyone else so. But I still can't help that every single moment, I am constantly thinking of our highs and lows.

What is happening to me? Am I really going crazy? Can I really call this love, or is this addiction making me hazy? Maybe I just refuse to admit it; maybe I can make my mind object. Perhaps the addiction is getting to me, and everyday he is just becoming more addicting.

Sincerely,

The One Addicted

fact or fictionsad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Caroline

My name is Caroline and I am an avid reader, writer and dreamer. I write for fun and to express all the crazy thoughts in my head. I love sharing my stories and experiences with others!

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/caroline_1626

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.