Poets logo

The Old Sword

The weapon against the enemy fights and all the worldly temptations

By Walter D. WitherspoonPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

Anybody who is a follower of Christ has a sword, and biblically a sword is not a weapon with a handle in the book fights the way of the enemy of ways of taking over mankind. Now I am not very exprecianced about every verse, but I have a few Go to verses I Go to in my time of need in spirutal warfare that Goes on in my life. Now I was at church every Sunday . I never wanted to , there honestly, I never believed In God because of my upbringing and learning about family and living in poverty at the time, growing in an urban area of Detroit Michigan but every old sword has highlight circled verses and bible study stick notes I have not finished the whole bible but his what I readed so far.

Psalm 41:11

This is the first verse I memorized I was 19 years old and dealing with starting a new life in a new state and dealing with family issues. I was watching a Joel Osteen sermon on T.V one night was speaking on one the most common story in the bible David and Goliath. I didn't have confidence building skills. I have been using this verse every time I come faced with a difficult task in life ,and it reminds me that he is not letting anything happen to me while I go threw tough times in life.

My first book

After my first and only suicide attempt (I say only because I never am going back to that feeling) ,I took a lot of time to myself with God and read his word .I stopped taking my relationship with God as a hobby and started taking it as a relationship as If I was married to him. I read a book called the power of positive thinking, and the first verse I came across was Romans 12:2 (Don not conform to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God's will is his good, pleasing, and perfect will). I just stuck to this verse for a Good month or so and I repeated everytime. My mind Got out of woke and, I started to think about the relationship I was the death of my Grandmother. I love this verse because it was the verse that lead me to a new me. The reason I have the book of James up here is was the first book the holy spirit lead me to and it was the first book I finish reading Its the bible, is not a long book either Its straight to the point of how we should live our life in christ I read this book every time I Good my daily meditation. I feel that anybody that starts in Christ should start with the Book of James.

Matthew 6:25-34

The Book of Matthew is the first book of the gospel I finished I am currently reading Matthew again. The verse in the caption is speaks deep to me because before I found christ I never worried about nothing life no matter how bad the situation. This the first book of the new testament

Matthew 7:24

I used to keep the bible open one this verse in my old apartment and as I reflected on my life I spent most of my life putting my faith on a sand and that's why my faith was not so strong and I had weak faith and believe in him I am building a better relationship with him daily and not just when I want to or have free time for the worldly stuff I have a better faith and a stronger foundation after following Christ and Walking with God .I repent daily from sins and forgive And my old sword I have had Seens I was 22 its has always came threw for me In my times of living in the world even tho I am not of the world .I am 30 now and I am at have the best relationship of my life spending and making time for God daily not just weekly or monthly.

book reviewsperformance poetrylove poemsnature poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Walter D. Witherspoon

Hey I am new to this platform I am just to share my stories,poems,and ideas. Good day thank God!!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)9 months ago

    This Is Truly a Gift 💯❤️😉👍Relatable and Real THANK YOU FOR SHARING AS WE ALL NEED BETTER WORK ON OUR RELATIONSHIP WITH FAITH!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.