Poets logo

The Old Record Player

Memories from my past

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
The Old Record Player
Photo by Luana De Marco on Unsplash

When the needle hits the groove

On the old record player

My mum kept all these years

Until she passed away

***

Her records in a box

Kept in our dusty attic

Surrounded by my memories

Of a childhood well spent

***

As the lyrics soar in the night

And the musicality swells

My memories flow

To what we were doing then

***

Mum and dad playing

With me their little son

We three singing along

As I bang my little drum,

***

That I got for my birthday

To my dad’s fun and glee

As my mum playfully scowls

And my dad tries to flee

***

I can remember where I was

The colour of my room

The posters tacked to my walls

As the speaker’s boom

***

And I flip through the albums

The colours of their sleeves

I sing along to the lyric sheet

And whistle though the eves

***

As the tonearm lifts

And settles on its perch

I return to the present

From my pasts’ sweet church

***

Determined to revisit

My childhood fun once more

I return to the record box

And select the memories I long for

***

The records of my past

Are stored in my memory box

On 12" vinyl gold

Of which I care a lot.

***

The musical memories

A doorway to my past

Evoke happiness untold

Of memories, I’ll never forget

Stored forever…

***

….In my musical record box

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.