Poets logo

The ocean, the storm, the water within

Suicide Prevention Helpline: 1.800.273.8255

By Sofia DuartePublished 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
6
The ocean, the storm, the water within
Photo by Andras Kovacs on Unsplash

Welcome to our Salloon for Writers' Mental Health short poem series! Join our facebook group here! Check our authors/poems with the following links:

Poem 1 by Oredolapo A Roberts | Poem 2 by Angela Derscha | Talia Devora | Oneg Kushnir | Thorn Everbloom

This is the third poem.

The storm was formed, my boat had sunk.

I didn't even know that I was at the sea.

I was drowning, and the ocean was within.

🌊

The time hasn't come yet, I am okay!

I don't know where it all began.

I was good,

I was cool,

I was fine.

My smile was my light, and my happiness was near.

My thoughts were enough to float,

Everything was ready and set to go…

Where did these problems start to grow?

🌊🌊

People ask me why I don't smile like before,

I am afraid to tell them that I don't know…

It was so long ago, these feelings were there,

The temperance was apparent,

Why am I drowning in my ocean of thoughts?

Where is my strength? Where am I?

I was so fine not so long ago!

🌊🌊🌊

The boat was afloat, I was rowing my life.

It's only a little moment, a little demise.

I didn't know then, but I do know now.

That little hole on my boat was drowning my mind and heart.

🌊🌊🌊🌊

It's easy to talk, to see and to feel,

When we look from the shore.

Nothing of this could be real,

I was so great before!

🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊

It is never too late to see our storm,

This ocean isn't our tomb!

It seems hard to swim all alone,

But the truth is that we can help you become one!

🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊

It is okay to be mad, to cry, and to do a tantrum!

The storm within burns, it hurts, just like the sun!

We need to swim that ocean, forget the boat for today!

And there's just one more thing that I can say:

🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊

Our life is a cycle of temperance and storms,

You will feel it all and remain afloat!

Even if you feel that you don't have a boat.

The beautiful ocean comes from within,

And you are perfect, with that ocean, the storm, the water within!

🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊🌊

Please check the next poems by... #4 Talia Devora |#5 Oneg Kushnir | #6 Thorn Everbloom

Made with Canva. You can check poetry and texts @ the table below

performance poetry
6

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.