Poets logo

Talk to Me

Suicide Prevention Helpline: 1.800.273.8255

By Angela DerschaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
14
Talk to Me
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

This is part 2 of a collaborative piece done by my Facebook writers group: Saloon for Writers. We do these fairly often and they are lots of fun, challenge us as writers, and allow us to tackle an issue that's both informative and important. If you would like to see part 1 by Oredolapo A Roberts. Please enjoy this poem focusing on suicide prevention!

If you feel alone or overwhelmed with life,

If the voices in your head are ugly,

Or if you hate everything,

Talk to me.

If your heart is full of burden,

If you feel helpless or worthless,

If you despise the sunshine, favoring the rain,

Talk to me.

If you feel lost and have no direction,

If you have cried all the tears that you have left,

If life has been a moldy lemon wedge,

Talk to me.

If you push everyone else away,

If you don't think others will accept your feelings

If you feel like there's no way out of this cloud,

Talk to me.

If you don't love yourself anymore,

If you can't get out of bed,

If you have nothing else to live for,

Talk to me.

If you're hovering on that ledge, facing the horrifying heights,

If you feel numb and stagnant

If you feel like jumping,

Talk to me.

If you want to feel the sweet release of death,

If you have it all planned out,

If you want to swallow the pills,

Talk to me.

If you hurt yourself to cope,

If you enjoy the gentle stinging of blood,

If you want to dig the blade in deeply,

Talk to me.

If you feel that nobody is in your corner,

If you feel like you can't go on anymore,

If you feel like suicide is the answer,

Talk to me.

Part 3 will be written by Sofia Duarte.

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.