Poets logo

The No Vote

Being Australian Right Now Is Humiliating

By Natasja RosePublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
7
The No Vote
Photo by Heiko Otto on Unsplash

Global Internet

Australia Voted "No"

I am embarrassed.

Welcome to Country: As I write this piece, I wish to acknowledge the Wangal people of the Eora nation, traditional owners of the land, whose soverignty and connection was never ceded. I pay my respects and regrets to the elders; past, present and emerging

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium!

sad poetryfact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    In the face of such triumphant cruelty & bigotry, nihilism begins to look more appealing all the time. How long, dear God?

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    I totally agree. People are easily scared into thinking the worst, when they're told they are going to lose something. Even when plainly it was only a positive thing we were voting on. I am quite often ashamed to call myself Australian. More so today.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great haiku! 😢 sorry about the internet! 🦇

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.