Poets logo

The Night I Spoke with God

David Cub Poetry

By David CubPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
The Night I Spoke with God
Photo by Jouwen Wang on Unsplash

The night I spoke with God

He offered me a box.

Inside was everything I had ever lost.

As I peaked inside and saw what used to be I felt sad.

Look, there was my smile.

Ironic, it's right next to my laugh.

And look, there was my self-esteem.

There's my child-like wonder.

My hope, my joy, my will to live.

And underneath that I saw my best friend from when I was growing up.

I saw the girl who got away.

There was my innocence and the pieces to my broken heart.

My appreciation for life's little moments.

I saw my grandmother's face smiling at me.

Just how I used to remember.

There were some friendships, relationships, and family members who have since passed into the next life.

All in this box that God gave me.

The further I dug, the more I remembered what else I lost.

There was also pain I had since healed from.

And some foolishness from my younger days.

There was my cowardice.

There was anger towards my family.

There were defeats I had not yet turned into victories.

There was hate and jealousy toward people who were undeserving of my negative emotions.

And there was myself.

God said I could pull one thing out this box of everything I had ever lost.

So I chose to pull out God.

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

David Cub

You can find me on Tiktok @DavidCubPoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.